Uncategorized / Wellness

“The Prime”: Phase I

First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to read my blog! Since this is my first blog post, I thought I’d dive right in and talk about this diet I just started called “The Prime.” If you haven’t heard about it – and I hadn’t either until I spent one night researching a diet that wouldn’t kill me, but was also well respected – it’s a book written by Dr. Kulreet Chaudhary. The book is based in Ayurvedic medicine, an ancient Indian medical practice that revolves around the idea that most medical issues are caused by some type of issues in your gut. Consequently, Ayurvedic medicine practitioners believe that most medical issues can be resolved by healing your gut, which has the added benefit of what Dr. Chaudhary calls, “spontaneous” weight loss (read: weight that comes off without really trying, or in even more laymen’s terms, without starving yourself). According to Dr. Chaudhary, this is because extra weight is nothing more than toxins that have nowhere else to go besides being stored as fat in your body, so if you can get rid of the toxins, you can “prime” your body to also get rid of unwanted fat. This made a lot of sense to me, especially after reading all of Dr. Chaudhary’s research, which she explains really well in language that is super easy to understand.

In order to get rid of all these toxins, Dr. Chaudhary says you need to follow four stages that last different lengths of time, depending on how “smart” your gut is (there’s a quiz in the book to help you determine your Gut IQ). The four stages are:

Stage 1: Activate a Biochemical Shift

Stage 2: Crush Cravings

Stage 3: Ignite Energy and Fat

Stage 4: Biohack Your Lifestyle Habits

I’ll go into each stage more as I get to them, but right now I’m in the last week of Stage 1 and am apparently activating a biochemical shift in my body. According to the gut test, my gut has an average IQ, meaning I need to stay in each stage for three weeks. This first stage requires you to drink Prime Tea and dry brush every morning, and take triphala and flush with fiber every night. Sounds easy enough, right?

I was skeptical of the Prime Tea at first. You’re supposed to boil four to five cups of water with fennel, coriander, and cumin seeds and sip on it most of the day. But the tea tastes much better than I expected, and is actually pretty soothing in the winter months. I was also afraid of the fiber flush, thinking it would basically keep me confined in a bathroom all day, but Dr. Chaudhary promises that the flush will be gentle – and she’s right. I definitely had to go to the bathroom more, but there were no *ahem* explosive, or unexpected moments, if you catch my drift. It’s very manageable. I was also nervous about how the flush would taste. Once it’s all mixed together, it looks like a water bottle with a few extra teaspoons of sand (and kinda tastes like it too, tbh). But it’s not unbearable, and even the doctor says your best bet is to just chug it, since the fiber tends to settle if you let it sit long enough. I had never heard of dry brushing before, but it’s supposed to improve circulation, help your body rid itself of those toxins, and even help reduce the appearance of cellulite (which was all I needed to read in order to convince me to do it every day). Have I seen a reduction in cellulite? No. But am I ready to give it up? No! I’m willing to stick with it; maybe it just takes time.

Now that I have started a biochemical shift in Phase 1, and will start crushing cravings in Phase 2 on Monday, here are my thoughts on “The Prime” so far:

  • Dr. Chaudhary says you may experience breakouts, achiness, fatigue, or weird-smells(!), but none of that happened to me. The only thing I experienced was a definite increase in the amount of times I went to the bathroom a day (which was already a lot), and I was certainly more regular. There were times I was more tired than usual, but to be honest, I’m not sure if that was The Prime, or just work and life in general. But she does say that your body is working hard cleaning itself out, so maybe it was the diet. Overall though, I felt fine.
  • I haven’t seen any of the spontaneous weight loss yet, but I can say that on the days I don’t eat as well as I should, it seems like my digestive system works extra hard to get that stuff out. In turn, this made me think twice before eating something unhealthy because I didn’t want to deal with the aftermath.

Now that Stage 1 is over, what’s next? Will I start to see this “spontaneous” weight loss? Will I ever get sick of the Prime Tea? Will I start to see the effects of the dry brushing? Will my gut get smarter?

Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

